Part 2: SU Debates – The Inaugural Class of the SU MLB Hall of Fame

Recently, Sports Unbiased announced the inaugural class of the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame.  27 players were inducted out of a possible 274.

Rich Stowe and Adam Solowiei are lifetime members of the IBWAA and are also serving as directors for the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame.  While Rich and Adam tend to agree about a lot of things baseball related, they did have some differences in their ballots for this inaugural class.

This article will be all about their ballots – we’ll see which players they agreed on, then we’ll see which ones they disagreed on and each person will explain why they did or did not vote for certain players.

Out of 274 players on the ballot, Adam voted for induction for 34 of them while Rich voted for 32.  There was a grand total of 10 differences between the ballots.  Adam voted for six players that Rich didn’t and Rich voted for four players that Adam didn’t.

Here are the players they both voted for (28 total):

  • Johnny Bench
  • Yogi Berra
  • Ernie Banks
  • Lou Gehrig
  • Stan Musial
  • Jimmy Foxx
  • Rogers Hornsby
  • Honus Wagner
  • George Brett 
  • Mike Schmidt
  • Ted Williams
  • Rickey Henderson
  • Carl Yastrzemski
  • Shoeless Joe Jackson
  • Ty Cobb
  • Joe DiMaggio
  • Mickey Mantle
  • Willie Mays
  • Hank Aaron
  • Roberto Clemente
  • Frank Robinson
  • Babe Ruth
  • Bob Gibson
  • Lefty Grove
  • Walter Johnson
  • Sandy Koufax
  • Christy Mathewson
  • Cy Young

All of the players except for Jimmy Foxx and Shoeless Joe Jackson were inducted on this inaugural ballot.

Who were the players that were different on each ballot?  Keeping reading and find out.  Part 1 was about the infield (there were no differences in the outfield) and Part 2 is about pitchers and catchers.

Up next:  Pitchers