MLB Hall of Fame 2014 Class – Greg Maddux – SU HOF

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse



Over the last year, the writers of Sports Unbiased (and several invited guests) have created the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame.  In this Hall of Fame, the ballot a player is inducted on matters – so there is a difference between first-ballot and second-ballot Hall of Famer and there is a difference between fifth-ballot and tenth.  For further information regarding the particulars about the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame, please read the Introduction.

We have already listed the catchersthe first basementhe second basemen, and the shortstops. While the results for third base will be announced shortly, this article is all about the 2014 class.

The 2014 class includes all those players that did not gain induction into the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame on the first 15 ballots.  These players include Mike Piazza, Lou Whitaker, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and several others.  It also includes those players who are on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time such as Frank Thomas, Mike Mussina, Greg Maddux and others.  We also voted on the players from the Veteran’s Committee such as Dan Quisenberry, Dave Parker, and others.

The BBWAA and IBWAA will make their announcements regarding their 2014 Induction Class on Wednesday, January 8th.  However, we here at Sports Unbiased make our announcement today.

Let’s begin with the results from the Veteran’s Committee players.  The writers voted either Yes or No on these players.  If a player received 75 percent or more of Yes votes, he would gain induction.  Sadly, no Veteran’s Committee player received enough votes.

Here are the results of this vote:


Player NamePosition% YES% NO
Concepcion, DaveSS2773
Garvey, Steve1B2773
John, TommyP2773
Parker, DaveLF1882
Quisenberry, DanP4555
Simmons, TedC3664

Here is the full 2014 Hall of Fame player list:



Player Name# of Ballot AppearancesPosition
Piazza, Mike16C
Lo Duca, Paul1C
Casey, Sean11B
Sexson, Richie11B
Snow, JT11B
Thomas, Frank11B
Durham, Ray12B
Kent, Jeff12B
Whitaker, Lou162B
Martinez, Edgar16DH
Alou, Moises1LF
Bonds, Barry16LF
Gonzalez, Luis1LF
Raines, Tim16LF
Jones, Jacque1RF
Benitez, Armando1P
Clemens, Roger16P
Gagne, Eric1P
Glavine, Tom1P
Jones, Todd1P
Maddux, Greg1P
Morris, Matt1P
Morris, Jack 16P
Mussina, Mike1P
Nomo, Hideo1P
Rogers, Kenny1P
Schilling, Curt16P
Smith, Lee16P
Timlin, Mike1P

Here are the results of the voting.  The following players received 51 percent or more of “No” votes and are dropped from all future ballots:

  • Paul Lo Duca
  • Sean Casey
  • Richie Sexson
  • JT Snow
  • Ray Durham
  • Lou Whitaker
  • Moises Alou
  • Luis Gonzalez
  • Jacque Jones
  • Armando Benitez
  • Eric Gagne
  • Todd Jones
  • Matt Morris
  • Hideo Nomo
  • Kenny Rogers
  • Mike Timlin


The following players received 50 percent combined “Yes” and “Later” votes but less than the required 75 percent of “Yes” votes for induction and will remain on the ballot for 2015:

  • Mike Piazza
  • Frank Thomas
  • Jeff Kent
  • Edgar Martinez
  • Barry Bonds
  • Tim Raines
  • Roger Clemens
  • Tom Glavine
  • Jack Morris
  • Mike Mussina
  • Curt Schilling
  • Lee Smith
So, if you’ve been paying attention, you’ll notice that there is one name missing from the above lists.  That name is of course Greg Maddux.  Well, there’s a fantastic reason for that – Greg Maddux received 100 percent “Yes” votes and has been inducted as a “first-ballot Hall of Famer” into the Sports Unbiased MLB Hall of Fame.


Greg Maddux - hall of Fame


Congratulations to Greg Maddux!  He joins a very short list of first-ballot unanimous pitchers (to be announced shortly but it includes pitchers such as Cy Young and Walter Johnson).


Here are the full results of all voting:


Player NamePosition% YES% NO% LATER
Piazza, MikeC641818
Lo Duca, PaulC01000
Casey, Sean1B01000
Sexson, Richie1B01000
Snow, JT1B01000
Thomas, Frank1B73270
Durham, Ray2B01000
Kent, Jeff2B91873
Whitaker, Lou2B36559
Martinez, EdgarDH552718
Alou, MoisesLF07327
Bonds, BarryLF55369
Gonzalez, LuisLF0919
Raines, TimLF64279
Jones, JacqueRF01000
Benitez, ArmandoP01000
Clemens, RogerP64279
Gagne, EricP01000
Glavine, TomP45055
Jones, ToddP08218
Maddux, GregP10000
Morris, MattP01000
Morris, Jack P274528
Mussina, MikeP181864
Nomo, HideoP01000
Rogers, KennyP08218
Schilling, CurtP452727
Smith, LeeP363618
Timlin, MikeP01000

Be sure to come back as we announce the results of the remaining positions such as third base and the entire outfield in the coming weeks.

So, how did we do?  Do you agree or disagree with our voting?  Were you surprised that Frank Thomas did not gain first-ballot induction?  Please leave a comment below.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse