PGA Tour FedExCup: 2013 Playoffs, Standings, History and Past Winners

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

fedexcupFor years the PGA Tour had struggled holding the viewers’ interest and attention as the season wound down. The major championships were behind them and many players were taking events off to rest after the grind of a full season.  With the exception of the Tour Championship no other event would generate the fields that drove PGA Tour gate attendance and television ratings. How could the tour fix such a challenging problem? The PGA Tour brain trust got together and came up with a unique idea. If other sports can have playoffs why not the PGA tour? With that simple thought in mind the FedExCup Playoffs were born. Since their inception the FedExCup has seen five individual winners; Brandt Snedeker (2012), Bill Haas (2011), Jim Furyk (2010), Tiger Woods (2007 and 2009) and Vijay Singh (2008).

The Tour debuted the FedExCup concept in 2007 with a simple idea which was to add drama to the PGA Tour and relevancy to the final events of the season. The players would all start even at the beginning of the season. As the season progressed the players would gather points based on finishing position in given events. Those points would be cumulative for the duration of the season thru the Wyndham Championship.  At that point the top-125 players in the FedExCup standings would qualify for the season ending playoffs. The playoffs would consist of four tournaments ending with the Tour Championship.

Image Courtesy of Stan Badz/Getty Images

Image Courtesy of Stan Badz/Getty Images

The point values once in the playoffs are quintupled making larger jumps possible in this exciting format. During  the playoffs the field size would be cut down until only the top-30 remain for the Tour Championship. 125 would start in The Barclays with the top-100 advancing to the Deutsche Bank Championship. The field is then reduced in size to 70 players for the BMW Championship and culminates with only the top-30 qualifying for the Tour Championship.

Once the field is set for the Tour Championship the points are reset using a weighted point system. By doing this the PGA Tour has ensured that all 30 players in the Tour Championship field can win the FedExCup title. The prize pool for the FedExCup Playoffs is an incredible $35 million with the champion taking home a check for $10 million.

The FedExCup prize pool does not replace the purse available in each event but rather is in addition to those prize pools. As an example Jim Furyk played an incredible up and down from the greenside bunker to win the 2010 FedExCup and took home $1.35 million for winning the Tour Championship and $10 million for winning the FedExCup. That meant that Furyk had a three foot putt for $11.35 million. That pressure and drama is exactly what the tour wanted.

The FedExCup points list has also replaced the money list as the deciding factor in keeping a tour card. In fact the qualification criteria was stood on its head this season. Now the top-125 in FedExCup points keep their tour cards, the top-25 on the money list earn their cards and then it gets fun. Players ranked 126-200 on the PGA Tour are eligible for the Tour Finals which includes the top-75 ranked players on the Tour. That 150 player total compete for PGA Tour status with only the top-25 making the grade. The PGA Tour wanted drama and they sure found it.

Image Courtesy of the AP

Image Courtesy of the AP

In only six years there have been many spectacular moments from Furyk’s up and down in the rain to win in 2010 to Bill Haas playing out of the water hazard in sudden death to win the FedExCup in 2011. Will this season’s playoff bring more memorable moments? We are close to finding out. This year’s edition of the FedExCup Playoffs begins this Thursday with The Barclays at Liberty National in Jersey City New Jersey.

Will Tiger Woods win his third FedExCup this season? Will players like Brandt Snedeker or Bill Haas win their second FedExCup title? Will a young upstart like Billy Horschel or Jordan Spieth continue their ascension to the top of the game and win their first FedExCup title? What is certain is that there are 125 players teeing it up this week at The Barclays who all believe that they can win the FedExCup and the cool $10 million that comes with being the FedExCup champion. As a fan it is time to sit back, relax and enjoy.

Below are the 2013 FedExCup points standings entering the first playoff event, The Barclays.

1Tiger Woods53,059
2Matt Kuchar22,293
3Brandt Snedeker22,218
4Phil Mickelson22,166
5Bill Haas11,505
6Billy Horschel11,487
7Justin Rose11,447
8Jordan Spieth11,436
9Henrik Stenson01,426
10Keegan Bradley01,416
11Adam Scott11,347
12Boo Weekley11,335
13Kevin Streelman11,333
14Jason Day01,284
15Jason Dufner11,256
16Dustin Johnson11,226
17Webb Simpson01,188
18Zach Johnson01,141
19Harris English11,134
20Steve Stricker01,117
21Hunter Mahan01,101
22Patrick Reed11,062
23Jim Furyk01,057
24Russell Henley11,048
25D.A. Points11,038
26Jimmy Walker0996
27Charles Howell III0996
28Graeme McDowell1941
29Jonas Blixt1912
30John Merrick1909
31Chris Kirk0904
32Ken Duke1902
33Charl Schwartzel0871
34Graham DeLaet0856
35Lee Westwood0856
36Sang-Moon Bae1838
37Matt Jones0836
38Bubba Watson0830
39Michael Thompson1828
40Angel Cabrera0826
41Roberto Castro0823
42Rickie Fowler0822
43Scott Stallings0816
44Martin Laird1809
45David Lingmerth0806
46Ryan Palmer0801
47Chris Stroud0800
48Charley Hoffman0793
49Rory McIlroy0777
50Scott Piercy0773
51Brendon de Jonge0769
52Brian Gay1744
53David Hearn0728
54David Lynn0716
55Luke Donald0707
56Tim Clark0703
57John Rollins0696
58Kevin Chappell0689
59Sergio Garcia0684
60Gary Woodland1683
61Josh Teater0682
62K.J. Choi0666
63Nick Watney0663
64Kyle Stanley0662
65John Huh0661
66Fredrik Jacobson0659
67Cameron Tringale0654
68Ryan Moore0653
69Marc Leishman0648
70Ian Poulter0645
71Brian Davis0622
72Luke Guthrie0607
73Robert Garrigus0601
74Derek Ernst1598
75Daniel Summerhays0594
76Scott Brown1588
77Nicholas Thompson0585
78Brian Stuard0583
79Jerry Kelly0580
80Brian Harman0578
81Brendan Steele0574
82Ernie Els0571
83Stewart Cink0568
84Richard H. Lee0565
85Rory Sabbatini0553
86Martin Flores0552
87Kevin Stadler0547
88Matt Every0545
89Pat Perez0544
90Bo Van Pelt0542
91Justin Leonard0536
92William McGirt0533
93James Driscoll0524
94Bob Estes0523
95Jason Kokrak0521
96Ted Potter, Jr.0518
97J.J. Henry0516
98Bryce Molder0504
99Geoff Ogilvy0492
100Jeff Overton0484
101James Hahn0480
102Mark Wilson0476
103Martin Kaymer0474
104Charlie Beljan0459
105John Senden0458
106Jason Bohn0454
107Lucas Glover0454
108Jeff Maggert0453
109Justin Hicks0451
110Camilo Villegas0450
111Morgan Hoffmann0444
112Chez Reavie0439
113Carl Pettersson0439
114D.H. Lee0432
115Andres Romero0430
116Johnson Wagner0430
117Erik Compton0422
118Charlie Wi0401
119Aaron Baddeley0401
120Steven Bowditch0400
121George McNeill0399
122Greg Chalmers0395
123Stuart Appleby0395
124Scott Langley0386
125Ben Crane0369
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse